Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies team to take on Moana Pasifika at GIO Stadium

Thu, Mar 16, 2023, 1:10 AM
ACT Brumbies Media
by ACT Brumbies Media
Photo: Brumbies Media
Photo: Brumbies Media

Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has made two changes to his starting selection for this Saturday’s Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific round four clash against Moana Pasifika at GIO Stadium in Canberra.


Connal McInerney returns to the run-on side at hooker with Wests backrower Luke Reimer earning his first starting jersey at openside flanker this season.


The headline selections come in the Brumbies finishing group with ACT local Ryan Lonergan set to earn his 50th Super Rugby cap on a night where fellow pathways graduates Jack Wright and Charlie Cale are in line to make their first appearance for the club. 


James Slipper and Rhys Van Nek will pack down in the front row beside McInerney, with Nick Frost and Cadeyrn Neville continuing at lock.


Wallabies pair Pete Samu and Rob Valetini will form a familiar looking backrow with Reimer.


Nic White and Noah Lolesio will steer the Brumbies backline again from nine and ten, with Ollie Sapsford and Len Ikitau also being retained in the centres.


The back three of Corey Toole, Andy Muirhead and Tom Wright remains unchanged from the opening three rounds.


In the finishers, Lachlan Lonergan will provide punch around the park at hooker, with Gungahlin Eagles props Tom Ross and Blake Schoupp coming on at prop.


Wright will be the lock reserve with Cale coming on in the backrow.


Lonergan will finish the game at halfback with Jack Debreczeni adding experience as the flyhalf cover.


Ben O’Donnell became Brumby #250 in last week’s 23-17 win over the Reds and will provide quality cover across the backline.


Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach, Stephen Larkham said: “We’ve built a good base for the season over the last couple of weeks and we’re excited to get another chance to improve this Saturday.”


“Moana are an excellent side and will test any team in this competition, obviously led by one of our own in Christian Lealiifano.”




1. James Slipper, Queanbeyan Whites


2. Connal McInerney, Canberra Royals


3. Rhys Van Nek, Uni-Norths Owls


4. Nick Frost, Queanbeyan Whites


5. Cadeyrn Neville, Uni-Norths Owls


6. Rob Valetini, Western District Lions


7. Luke Reimer, Western District Lions


8. Pete Samu, Gungahlin Eagles


9. Nic White, Queanbeyan Whites


10. Noah Lolesio, Tuggeranong Vikings


11. Corey Toole, Gungahlin Eagles


12. Ollie Sapsford, Uni-Norths Owls


13. Len Ikitau, Tuggeranong Vikings


14. Andy Muirhead, Canberra Royals


15. Tom Wright, Western District Lions




16. Lachlan Lonergan, Tuggeranong Vikings


17. Blake Schoupp, Gungahlin Eagles


18. Tom Ross, Gungahlin Eagles


19. Jack Wright, Tuggeranong Vikings*


20. Charlie Cale, Uni-Norths Owls*


21. Ryan Lonergan, Tuggeranong Vikings**


22. Jack Debreczeni, Uni-Norths Owls


23. Ben O’Donnell, Western District Lions


*Denotes potential ACT Brumbies debut

** Denotes potential 50th game for ACT Brumbies

Photo: Getty
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies celebrate 2023 major on-kit partners
Photo: Getty
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies fall to Crusaders in Christchurch
Photo: ACT Brumbies Media
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies Super W confirm side for Round 1 against Fijiana Drua
Pedro Rolando: 33-year-old Canberra Rugby Royalty finally thrust into sudden Super spotlight