Alaalatoa honoured with 2nd consecutive Brett Robinson Award

· Super Rugby - AU
by Brumbies Media

Plus500 Brumbies skipper Allan Alaalatoa has been honoured with his second consecutive Brett Robinson Award for Players' Player of the Year after a stellar 2020 season. 

In his maiden season leading the Brumbies, Alaalatoa played over 1000 minutes while anchoring the sides set piece, lifting the Super Rugby AU trophy at GIO Stadium.
The Wallabies tighthead prop was previously voted best Brumbies forward in back to back years in 2017 and 2018 and becomes just the second player in the club's history to win the top award in successive seasons joining 10-time winner George Smith.

Allan Alaalatoa said: “I’m truly grateful to receive the award.”
“It’s a special feeling, knowing that you’ve been voted by your brothers, the boys you go to work with every day.
“The boys are a huge reason why I go out on the field and work as hard as I can, because I never want to let them down.
“The connection we have at this club is truly special so a lot of credit must go to my teammates and I’m truly grateful to be recognised by them for my efforts.”
While the Brumbies didn’t get a chance to finish their Super W season off due to COVID-19, the side still put in some fantastic performances this year, led by star backrow Ema Masi, who was honoured with the 2020 Helen Taylor award for Super W Player of the Year.
In their second seasons with the club, Irae Simone and Pete Samu took out the Brumbies best back and forward awards for 2020 respectively.
Simone’s standout year saw him earn his first Wallabies call-up, with Samu providing consistent X-factor for the team throughout their Super Rugby campaign.
Following his Super Rugby AU Grand Final Player of the match nod, Noah Lolesio was awarded the prestigious, Shawn Mackay Award for most outstanding young talent.
Lolesio won the Graham Gordon Best U20 award in 2019 before his breakout rookie season in Super Rugby this year.
Ella Ryan, who also steered the Brumbies attack from flyhalf, was awarded the Super W Young Talent award.
2019 saw the introduction of the Christian Lealiifano Spirit of the Brumbies award. Named to honour Lealiifano’s impact on the Brumbies, both on and off the field, the Spirit of the Brumbies award honours a player who exemplifies the Brumbies ethos in everything they do. 
The 2020 recipient Scott Sio was honoured with the award for his leadership within the squad, and for his work as RUPA representative in what was a challenging year.
In a season where the Brumbies couldn’t engage with supporters due to COVID, Tom Wright went above and beyond to engage with our major charity partners Communities at Work, in particular the Brumbies’ assistance to its Galilee School which caters for Year 7 – 10’s who have disengaged from mainstream schooling.
Wright’s efforts were acknowledged with the Canberra Milk Community Engagement Award.
Brett Robinson Players’ Player Award: ALLAN ALAALATOA
Helen Taylor Super W Player of the Year: EMA MASI
Christian Lealiifano Spirit of the Brumbies: Scott Sio
Super W Most Outstanding Young Player: ELLA RYAN
Shawn Mackay Most Outstanding Young Talent Award: NOAH LOLESIO
Plus500 Brumbies Best back: IRAE SIMONE
Plus500 Brumbies Best Forward Award: PETE SAMU
Canberra Milk Community Engagement Award: TOM WRIGHT


1996 - Owen Finnegan
1997 - George Gregan
1998 - Stephen Larkham
1999 - George Gregan
2000 - Jim Williams
2001 - George Smith
2002 - Stirling Mortlock
2003 - George Smith
2004 - George Smith
2005 - George Smith
2006 - George Smith
2007 - George Smith
2008 - George Smith
2009 - George Smith
2010 - George Smith
2011 - Matt Giteau
2012 - Stephen Moore
2013 - George Smith
2014 - Jarrad Butler
2015 - David Pocock
2016 - Christian Lealiifano
2017 - Henry  Speight
2018 - Rory Arnold
2019 - Allan Alaalatoa