Larkham names 28-player Squad for Japan Tour

Tue, Sep 26, 2023, 1:13 AM

Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has announced a 28-player squad to travel to Japan for the club’s two-game development tour.


In preparation for the 2024 Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific season, the tour will serve as a formalised development vehicle, by providing a platform for performance growth and social connection.


Historically, tours similar to this have proved beneficial to Brumbies’ Championship success.  In 1995 the Brumbies toured Japan, as well as the UK in 1997.  The 2001 Super 12 Championship winning team comprised of 14-players that participated in one or both tours.


BentSpoke John I Dent Cup standouts Liam Bowron, Baden Godfrey, Henry Palmer, Sila Titiuti, Jack Hardy, Pedro Rolando, and Joe Wadman, former McDougall Medallist Will Sankey, new lock recruit, Lachlan Shaw and new signing, halfback Harrison Goddard will join the 2023 Brumbies squad to tour Japan.


ACT Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham said: “We’ve assembled a strong squad compiled of our contracted players, our Elite Development Squad and players from the John I Dent Cup.


“Our coaching staff have been closely watching the local BentSpoke John I Dent Cup and we have identified a number of highly talented young men, who we think are deserving of the opportunity.


“This tour will be a great opportunity for players and staff to develop their relationship and welcome new players into the Brumbies environment.


“We’re really looking forward to the cultural experience and strengthening our relationship with Suntory Sungoliath and BlackRams Tokyo.”




  1. Austin Anderson (Western Districts Lions)
  2. Liam Bowron (Canberra Royals)
  3. Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles)
  4. Charlie Cale (Uni-Norths Owls)
  5. Nathan Carroll (Queanbeyan Whites)
  6. Hudson Creighton (Queanbeyan Whites)
  7. Harrison Goddard (TBC)
  8. Baden Godfrey (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  9. Jack Hardy (Gungahlin Eagles)
  10. Fred Kaihea (Queanbeyan Whites)
  11. Ed Kennedy (Canberra Royals)
  12. Connal McInerney (Canberra Royals)
  13. Declan Meredith (Western Districts Lions)
  14. Andy Muirhead (Canberra Royals)
  15. Henry Palmer (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  16. Billy Pollard (Uni-Norths Owls)
  17. Luke Reimer (Western Districts Lions)
  18. Pedro Rolando (Canberra Royals)
  19. Tom Ross (Gungahlin Eagles)
  20. Will Sankey (TBC)
  21. Rory Scott (Canberra Royals)
  22. Lachlan Shaw (TBC)
  23. Darcy Swain (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  24. Klayton Thorn (Gungahlin Eagles)
  25. Sila Titiuti (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  26. Corey Toole (Gungahlin Eagles)
  27. Rhys Van Nek (Uni-Norths Owls)
  28. Joe Wadman (Tuggeranong Vikings)



ACT Brumbies v Suntory Sungoliath

Saturday 7 October, 13:00 at Sapporo Dome, Sapporo


ACT Brumbies v Black Rams Tokyo

Saturday 14 October, 13:00 at Ricoh Fields, Tokyo

Siokapesi Palu: Converting the family to gold jerseys
Tania Naden training for the Wallaroos at the AIS, photo by Jack Rowley.
Five Brumbies named for Wallaroos to take on the Black Ferns
Charlie Cale will make his first start for the Wallabies. Source: Getty Images
Cale confirmed to start; Slipper to lead Wallabies
Australia U20s denied semi-final spot after clash with Ireland cancelled