ACT Brumbies unveil 2023 Super W squad

Tue, Feb 14, 2023, 1:03 AM
ACT Brumbies Media
by ACT Brumbies Media
Photo: Getty
Photo: Getty

The ACT Brumbies have confirmed their 34-player squad for the 2023 Buildcorp Super W season, with 16 players returning from previous seasons.


The group, featuring talent from the ACT and capital region, interstate and overseas, will be led by Uni-Norths Owls and Wallaroos centre Siokapesi Palu.


Scott Fava's first squad as head coach includes capped internationals: Wallaroos Grace Kemp, Tania Naden, Palu, and Jemima McCalman, Fijiana prop Iris Verebalavu, Tongan Fuifuilupe duo Tilila Hifo and Shonte To’a, Samoan backrow Alyce Solaese and World Cup winning New Zealand Black Ferns prop Amy Rule.


ACT Brumbies Super W captain, Siokapesi Palu said: “It’s an honour to be selected to captain the squad this year."


"We’ve got a great group of experienced girls within the leadership group that are ready to step up, welcome and lead some of the newcomers.


"I think we’re all very proud to be representing our communities and setting an example for women and girls, that you do belong in rugby.”


ACT Brumbies Super W Head coach, Scott Fava said: “The 2023 Brumbies Super W Squad is a great mixture of youth and experience with some really exciting fresh faces guided around the field by nine international players."


"With numerous spirited performances against South Australia and the Melbourne Rebels over the last two pre-season trials, the selection process was a difficult exercise to reduce from a wider squad of 50 players to 34.


"However, we feel we have settled on a vibrant, exciting and gritty group of women to take on the Super W in 2023.”






Amy Rule

Iris Verebalavu

Tilila Hifo

Benita Ese Sale

Sally Fuesaina

Brittany Leauanae




Tania Naden

Harriet Elleman

Erika Maslen




Ash Fernandez

Jess Grant

Kate Holland

Ivy Merlehan


Back Row


Alyce Solaese

Tabua Tuinakauvadra

Lydia Kavoa

Zali Waihape

Edwina Munns-Cook

Grace Kemp




Jay Huriwai

Gisela Vea




Faitala Moleka

Shonte To’a

Gabrielle Petersen




Siokapesi Palu

Harmony Ioane

Sarah Riordan

Emerina Marsh-Kiro




Jemima McCalman

Apryll Green

Biola Dawa




Sammie Wood

Ashlea Bishop

Akira Kelly

Photo: Getty
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies celebrate 2023 major on-kit partners
Photo: Getty
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies fall to Crusaders in Christchurch
Photo: ACT Brumbies Media
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies Super W confirm side for Round 1 against Fijiana Drua
Pedro Rolando: 33-year-old Canberra Rugby Royalty finally thrust into sudden Super spotlight