ACT Brumbies Runner's line-up to tackle Australia U20s and Sydney University

Fri, Mar 1, 2024, 4:42 AM
Darcy Swain makes his return from injury.
Darcy Swain makes his return from injury.

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies Runner's team has been announced to face the Australia U20s and Sydney University Rugby Union this Sunday at the Australian Institute of Sport (Field 3), kicking off at 11:00AM AEDT.

Coached by ACT Brumbies Head of Elite Pathways & Player Development Daniel Hooper, the game is a part of a four-match program which would feature a mixture of contracted Brumbies players and some of our rising stars from the Brumbies Academy.

“The program is a great opportunity for a lot of our pathways players to experience quality game time with and against Super Rugby calibre athletes.”

“Many players who are a part of our Super Rugby Pacific squad have featured in the Runner’s Program at some stage during their development,” said Hooper.

The Brumbies Runner's program also provides an opportunity for players in the wider Super Rugby Pacific squad to obtain invaluable playing time to ensure that they are prepared and primed for selection for the Brumbies.

This Sunday's fixture sees Darcy Swain make his return from injury, where he will partner former Western Force's Will Sankey at lock. Swain will head a list of Super Rugby Pacific squad members which include Harry Vella, Lachlan Shaw, Rory Scott, Klayton Thorn, Austin Anderson and Hudson Creighton.

Brumbies Members and fans are encouraged to attend this Sundays Runner's fixture ahead of next Saturday's first home match of the season against the Western Force at GIO Stadium. Where our ACT Brumbies Runners will feature in a curtain raiser, when they face Western Force A at 12:05PM AEDT.

2024 ACT Brumbies Runners Fixture

ACT Brumbies Runners v Aust U20/Sydney University

Sunday 3 March, 11:00AM AEDT

AIS (Field 3), Canberra

Starting XV 1. Harry Vella (Canberra Royals)

2. Liam Bowron (Canberra Royals)

3. Sila Titiuti (Tuggeranong Vikings)

4. Will Sankey (Uni-Norths Owls)

5. Darcy Swain (Tuggeranong Vikings)

6. Davea Teoteo (Queanbeyan Whites)

7. Rory Scott (Canberra Royals)

8. Baden Godfrey (Tuggeranong Vikings)

9. Klayton Thorn (Gungahlin Eagles)

10. Jack Hardy (Gungahlin Eagles)

11. Kadin Pritchard (Gungahlin Eagles)

12. Austin Anderson (Wests)

13. Hudson Creighton (Queanbeyan Whites)

14. Matias Jensen (Uni-Norths Owls)

15. Nate Carroll (Queanbeyan Whites)


16. Darcy Fogarty (Sydney University)

17. James Bundy (Canberra Royals)

18. Dion Yazdani (Eastwood)

19.  ⁠Zane Marolt (Easts)

20. Keynan Taukipulu (Tuggeranong Vikings)

21. Cullin Cooper-Jones (Queanbeyan Whites)

22. BJ Oats (Canberra Royals)

23. Eli Sagala (Queanbeyan Whites)

24. Jakob Biet (Queanbeyan Whites)

25. Clay Uyen (Gungahlin Eagles)

  Head Coach Dan Hooper  

  2024 ACT Brumbies Runners Match Schedule

ACT Brumbies Runners v Western Force A

Saturday 9 March, 12:05PM AEDT

GIO Stadium, Canberra  

ACT Brumbies Runners v NSW Waratahs A

Saturday 16 March, 1:00PM AEDT

Simon Poidevin Oval, Goulburn  

ACT Brumbies Runners v Hong Kong China

Saturday 27 April, 12:05PM AEST

GIO Stadium, Canberra

Pesi Palu hits the ball up for the Brumbies.
Super Rugby Womens Match Highlights: Round 5 v Western Force
Harmony Ioane during her Round 5 clash against the Force.
Brumbies fall short against the Force at Viking Park
CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 22: Jemima McCalman of the Brumbies in action during the round two Super Rugby Women's match between ACT Brumbies and Melbourne Rebels at GIO Stadium on March 22, 2024 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Mark Nolan/Getty Images)
Game Day Guide: Brumbies Women v Western Force
Wallaby Watch: Analysing the front-row options for Joe Schmidt's opening Test against Wales