Kata back for Plus500 Brumbies; Frost and Kuenzle set for first starts

by Brumbies Media

Powerhouse winger Solomone Kata will suit up for the Plus500 Brumbies for the first time in Vodafone Super Rugby AU when the side takes on the Western Force at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday night.


Bayley Kuenzle will wear the number 10 jersey for the first time after steering the team to their gritty win over the Waratahs last weekend.


Wallabies prop Scott Sio starts for the first time in the new competition and will partner fellow Test players Allan Alaalatoa and Folau Fainga'a in the front three.


Promising youngster Nick Frost will make his first appearance in the run on side, packing down next to Murray Douglas in the second row.


Will Miller will join Rob Valetini and Pete Samu in a familiar backrow with Joe Powell to partner Kuenzle in their first outing as a halves pair.


Irae Simone and Tevita Kuridrani will combine again in the midfield with Tom Banks, Tom Wright and Kata the back three.


Connal McInerney is the replacement hooker, while Canberra local Harry Lloyd is set to see game time against his former club as the replacement loosehead, with versatile James Slipper set to swap sides of the scrum as the tighthead finisher.


The recently returned Ben Hyne will be back in Brumbies colours for the first time since July 2017, with Lachlan McCaffrey to provide experience in the late stages of the match.


Last weekend's match winner and former Force scrumhalf Issak Fines will again provide spark off the pine with Mack Hansen and Andy Muirhead rounding out the matchday 23.


Plus500 Brumbies coach Dan McKellar said: "It's great to have Sol back in the team, he had a solid start to the year and he's chomping at the bit to contribute on Saturday night."


"We're really excited to see BK in the number 10 jersey, he's been a part of our system for a while now and he did a good job there for us last weekend.


"Frosty's been training the house down all year and he's really earned his first start and I'm sure he'll deliver against a really good Force outfit on Saturday night."



1. Scott Sio

2. Folau Fainga'a

3. Allan Alaalatoa (c)

4. Murray Douglas

5. Nick Frost

6. Rob Valetini

7. Will Miller

8. Pete Samu

9. Joe Powell

10. Bayley Kuenzle

11. Tom Wright

12. Irae Simone

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Solomone Kata

15. Tom Banks



16. Connal McInerney

17. Harry Lloyd

18. James Slipper

19. Ben Hyne

20. Lachlan McCaffrey

21. Issak Fines

22. Mack Hansen

23. Andy Muirhead