Brumbies reveal 2020 Super W Squad

by Brumbies Media

The Brumbies have today confirmed their 34-woman squad ahead of this year's Super W competition.

The side has 17 players returning from the 2019 campaign, with 17 fresh faces making up an exciting mixture of youth and experience within group.

The side will be bolstered by the addition of capped Wallaroo and backrower, Rebecca Smyth, who is suiting up for her first appearance in the competition.

Smyth made her international debut back in 2007 and was part of the national side that placed third at the 2010 Rugby World Cup.

She will be joined by fellow Wallaroos and experienced Brumbies, Louise Burrows and Michaela Leonard, with the latter to co-captain the side alongside Jane Garraway.

Last year's Super W Player of the Year, Tayla Stanford also returns for another season, with the dynamic backrower looking to use her 2019 success as a platform for further honours in 2020.

Exciting outside back, Talei Wilson returns to the squad after missing 2019 through injury.

Last season's skipper and Wallaroo, Shellie Millward, will miss the season with a shoulder injury, opening the door for young talent to come through and press for an opportunity.

One of the fresh faces is promising young playmaker Ella Ryan, who was part of the successful Australian Youth 7s side that won the World Schools in New Zealand last year.

Barnstorming ball runner Pesi Palu is another newcomer to the squad who is expected to see plenty of time in the centres, with 17-year-old rookie, Zali Waihape-Andrews, a ball carrying flanker with size and exciting ball skills.

A total of eight rookies in the squad were part of the 2019 Brumbies Schoolgirls side that defeated New South Wales Combined High Schools for the first time in 22 years.

Returning Head Coach, Adam Butt said the squad was well balanced heading into the 2020 season.

"There's a really great mix of experience and youth in the squad this year, with a number of women returning and also lots of fresh faces and enthusiasm," Butt said.

"We've been training with the group for a few months and there's so much talent coming through that we've picked a bigger squad to allow all the women to push for final selection ahead of Round One, after trials against New South Wales and the Rebels.

"To have someone like Rebecca Smyth come on board for the year is awesome, especially for the young women on our team.  She's got so much experience for the Wallaroos and she can't wait to get out there for the Brumbies.

"We feel like we made some real improvements last season in making our first semi-final and we'll be looking to make it all the way to the big dance this year.

"We're also really excited about our draw with all of our games double-headers with Super Rugby, including two matches in Canberra in front of our home crowd."


Ellie Brislane^ - Canberra Royals

Louise Burrows* - Canberra Royals

Peta Cox - Tuggeranong Vikings

Kathryn Cudaj^ - Goulburn Dirty Reds

Harriet Elleman -Wagga Wagga

Ash Fernandez^ - Radford College

Krystal Fyfe^ - West Wyalong Pirates

Grace Kemp - Canberra Royals

Michaela Leonard* (c) - Tuggeranong Vikings

Emma Masi - Tuggeranong Vikings

Tania Ofamasaga - Uni-Norths Owls

Niki Paterson^ - Canberra Royals

Paige Penning - Goulburn Dirty Reds

Pearl Rakete^ - Goulburn Dirty Reds

Emily Sogal - Tuggeranong Vikings

Rebecca Smyth^* - Narromine Gorillas

Tayla Stanford - Tuggeranong Vikings

Grace Sullivan^ - Canberra Royals

Jasmine Veikune^ - Wests Rugby

Iris Verebalavu - Uni-Norths Owls

Zali Waihape-Andrews^ - Tuggeranong Vikings



Biola Dawa - Gunghalin Eagles

Jane Garraway (c) - Uni-Norths Owls

Allyssa Lolesio-Pua^ - TBC

Phoebe Loughhead^ - Eastern Suburbs (Sydney)

Claudia Obst - Uni-Norths Owls

Pesi Palu^ - Uni-Norths Owls

Caitlin Quester^ - Wests Rugby

Gabrielle Petersen^ - Tuggeranong Vikings

Darcy Read - Canberra Royals

Ella Ryan^ - Canberra Royals

Ainsley Scrivener^ - Canberra Royals

Talei Wilson - Uni-Norths Owls

Sammie Wood - Uni-Norths Owls


^ Denotes uncapped Brumbies Super W Players

* Denotes capped Wallaroo


To see a list of full fixtures for the 2020 season click here and to become a Super W member, click here.