Brumbies name Super Rugby Pacific line-up for Western Force Trial

Thu, Feb 8, 2024, 9:32 AM

The Safeguard ACT Brumbies Super Rugby Pacific squad travel to Perth to face the Western Force in their final trial match of 2024 at Revo Fitness Stadium, kicking off at 5.00PM AWST (8:00PM AEDT).  

For the second week in a row, Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named 20-year-old lock Lachlan Shaw and athletic No. 8, Charlie Cale in the starting team.  The team also sees the return of numerous Wallabies including James Slipper, Nick Frost, Noah Lolesio and Tom Wright. Scrum-half Ryan Lonergan will lead the team out on to Revo Fitness Stadium.  

The Brumbies scored a tight 43-40 win over the Fijian Drua last weekend in front of a strong 2,500+ crowd at Viking Park.

Brumbies Head Coach Stephen Larkham said “We experienced a great atmosphere in front of our home crowd last weekend. It was a good opportunity for several of our Academy players to be exposed to first class rugby for the first time. This week we welcome back several experienced players to the field and look forward to seeing how the team performs as we build into the 2024 Super Rugby Pacific season.  

The match will serve as the club's final hit out before the Brumbies opening 2024 Super Rugby Pacific fixture against the Melbourne Rebels at AAMI Park on Friday Feb 23.

  Super Rugby Pacific v Western Force

Saturday 10 February, 5:00PM AWST (8:00PM AEDT)

Revo Fitness Stadium, Claremont  

Starting XV

1. James Slipper (Queanbeyan Whites)

2. Lachlan Lonergan (Tuggeranong Vikings)

3. Rhys Van Nek  (Uni-North Owls)

4. Nick Frost (Queanbeyan Whites)

5. Lachlan Shaw (Gungahlin Eagles)

6. Tom Hooper (Tuggeranong Vikings)

7. Luke Reimer (Western Districts)

8. Charlie Cale (Uni-North Owls)

9. Ryan Lonergan (c) (Tuggeranong Vikings)

10. Noah Lolesio (Tuggeranong Vikings)

11. Corey Toole (Gungahlin Eagles)

12. Ollie Sapsford (Uni-North Owls)

13. Len Ikitau (Tuggeranong Vikings)

14. Andy Muirhead (Canberra Royals)

15. Tom Wright (Western Districts)  


16. Billy Pollard (Uni-North Owls)

17. Blake Schoupp (Gungahlin Eagles)

18. Tevita Alatini (Gungahlin Eagles)

19. Will Sankey (Uni-North Owls)

20. Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles)

21. Harrison Goddard (Queanbeyan Whites)

22. Declan Meredith (Western Districts)

23. Austin Anderson (Western Districts)

25. Hudson Creighton (Queanbeyan Whites)

26. Rory Scott (Canberra Royals)

28. Fred Kaihea (Queanbeyan Whites)