Squads named for ACT Brumbies City vs Country in Goulburn

Sun, Sep 11, 2022, 11:30 PM
by Brumbies.rugby
Photo: Lachlan Lawson
Photo: Lachlan Lawson

Following ACT and Southern NSW senior rugby's successful Grand Final day at Viking Park squads have been named for City vs Country this Saturday, 17 September in Goulburn.

Proudly funded by the NSW Government and the Reconnecting Regional NSW Community Events Program, Goulburn’s Poidevin Oval will host what should be a brilliant day of rugby in the Brumbies heartland.

City vs Country is a vital part of the Brumbies Representative Program, the best of the ACT and Southern NSW taking the field to compete for places in the ACT and Southern NSW Griffins (Mens) and Kestrels (Womens).

The best of the Bentspoke John I Dent Cup have been divided into South and North sides, with the standouts from the Premier 15s competition coming together to form the Brumbies City Women’s group.

ACT Brumbies representative Program Manager, Tony Abel said: “It’s exciting to be able to unveil our City squads after naming our Country teams after what was a successful Brumbies provincial championships.”

“Coaches have watched on closely this season and we feel the most-deserving talent from our local competition will be in Goulburn next Saturday and from there, we will be able to select our Griffins and Kestrels sides.

“The next step for the Kestrels will be to take on a President’s XV in Canberra on the 24th of September, and for the Griffins, they’ll head to Adelaide for the inaugural Australian Rugby Shield.

“On behalf of everyone in the ACT and Southern NSW Rugby community, I’d like to thank the NSW Government and the Reconnecting Regional NSW Community Events Program for their support of City vs Country in Goulburn.”


Forwards: Tauati Chan Tung, Mika Eli, Dominic Tevao, Nathanael Mooney, Shammah Tiumalu (Gunghalin), Ezekiel Seia (Penrith), Ryan Kiely (Wests), David Kirk, Max Bode, Sam Thomas, Jack Kearns, Ben Dalton (Uni-Norths), Alec Corcoran (Royals)

Backs: Sam Hyland, Isaac Crowe (Gunghalin), Kyle Brown (Penrith), Junior Taia, Timoci Naivaluwaqa (Wests), Hamish Dawson, Jordan Thompson, Angus Blackmore, Siave Seti, Callum Richardson (Uni-Norths)

Ben Pearson (Head Coach), Pete Altona (Assistant Coach), Glenn Carey (Manager), Anna Tasker (Trainer)


Forwards: Charlie Cartwright, Tom Iles, Oli Bee (Royals) Zane Hogan, Josh Townsend, Davea Teoteo, Justin Sikimeti, Silafono Titiuti, Neori Nadruku (Queanbeyan), Remsy Lemisio, Maxime Turrel, Liam Bilston, James Douglas, Callum Smith (Tuggeranong)

Backs: Pedro Rolando, Harry Quinlan, Lincoln Smith, Dylan McLachlan (Royals), Mitch Douch, Liam Richman, Jackson Stuart (Queanbeyan), Jack Evenden, Andrew Robinson, Lennix Tovo (Tuggeranong)

Jerome Villegas (Head Coach), Ray Wells (Assistant Coach), Greg Hayes (Manager), Stewart Winnie (Trainer)


Forwards: Caroline Tai, Selu Kiriui, Telesia Sekona (Queanbeyan), Ash Fernandez (Royals), Stephanie Stewart-Jones, Emma Suitor-Clark, Zali Waihape-Andrews, Antoinette Eli (Tuggeranong), Meilani Salale, Ella Hopper, Lydia Kavoa, Marisca Coetzee (Uni-Norths), Emily Hudson (Wests)

Backs: Gisela Vea, Gabbie Petersen, Kathryn Niki, Tabua Tuinakauvadra, Lily

Hawthorn, Teliya Hetaraka (Tuggeranong), Jacquiline Pele (Queanbeyan), Allison Futialo (Penrith), Chioma Enyi (Wests), Emerina Marsh-Kiro (Uni-Norths)

Lucas Thiessen (Head Coach), Zac Elliott, Reinhold Kamilo, Mick Burrows (Assistant Coach), Cait Amosa (Manager)


Forwards: Alex Meades, Alex Farquar (Wagga Ag College), Adam Mokotupu, Thomas Blanch, Jacob Nielsen, Pita Herangi (Wagga City), Oliver Toma, Connor Swann (Tumut), Will Mooney, Jordan Wilcox (Goulburn), Talilotu Uoifalelahi, Blake Theunissen (Griffith), James Bundy (Broulee)

Backs: Jackson Reardon, Alec Palmer (Goulburn), Anthony Taylor, Max Gay (Wagga Ag College), Vincent Wise (Tumut), Noa Rabici, Sheldon Tovio (Wagga City), Vilitati Seru (Cooma), Lachie Day (Wagga Waratahs), Aaron Leighton (Crookwell), Tully MacPherson(Albury)

Nick McCarthy (Head Coach), Doug Ryan (Assistant Coach), Jake Eaglesham (Manager)


Forwards: Amie Fazekas (Leeton), Harriet Elleman, Amy Hart, Yolanda Forsyth (Wagga Waratahs), Ivy Merlehan (CSU Reddies), Pearl Rakete, Paige Penning (Goulburn Dirty Reds), Fapiola Uoifalelahi, Veronica Seukeni, (Griffith), Rebecca Harris (Bungendore), Alice White (Albury-Wodonga)

Backs: Jordan Brooker, Ashley Mewburn, Krystal Blackwell, Elly Hazelton (Goulburn), Amellia Lolotonga, Beyonce Marella (Griffith), Megan Pearson (Wagga Waratahs), Tian Kingsbury (ADFA), Megan Seis (Wagga Ag College), Sam Small (Jindabyne), Biola Dawa (CSU Reddies)

Jono Andreou (Head Coach), Chris McCaskie (Assistant Coach), Megan Penning (Manager)



Saturday 17th September


12pm – City Women vs Country Women

13:25 – Brumbies City South vs Brumbies Country

14:20 – Brumbies City North vs Brumbies Country

15:10 - Brumbies City North vs Brumbies City South


Simon Poideven Oval, 240/246 Addison Street, Goulburn