Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies to take on Western Force

Thu, May 18, 2023, 2:13 AM
ACT Brumbies Media
by ACT Brumbies Media
Photo: Getty
Photo: Getty

Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has made 12 changes to his starting side for Saturday's round 13 clash against the Western Force at HBF Park in Perth.


Rugby Australia's Rugby World Cup resting policy sees James Slipper, Lachlan Lonergan, Allan Alaalatoa, Nick Frost, Rob Valetini, Nic White, Len Ikitau and Tom Wright rested for the Brumbies trip to the west.


Headlining the Brumbies selection is Hudson Creighton's first Super Rugby start, the Queanbeyan Whites centre combining with Tamati Tua in the midfield after making his return to Larkham's gameday selection in last week's bonus-point win against the Highlanders.


Up front, Blake Schoupp and Rhys Van Nek start at prop with Billy Pollard adding x-factor at hooker.


Tom Hooper makes his return to the Brumbies run-on side after getting valuable minutes off the bench in the last two weeks. Hooper will partner Darcy Swain in the second row with Jack Wright coming onto the bench to form an all-Vikings lock group.


In the backrow, Charlie Cale comes in at blindisde with Rory Scott back at openside after a rest in the last two rounds. Pete Samu is a valuable inclusion for the Brumbies at number eight.


Ryan Lonergan will lead the side at halfback with Jack Debreczeni getting a start at flyhalf.


Creighton and Tua's midfield combination sees Ollie Sapsford shift to the right wing, with Corey Toole and Andy Muirhead at fullback forming the back-three.


Connal McInerney, Fred Kaihea and Sefo Kautai will come on in the front row, with Wright covering lock and Luke Reimer bringing bags of energy to the backrow.


Having been named in the Junior Wallabies squad on Wednesday, Gungahlin halfback Klayton Thorn is on debut off the bench alongside Noah Lolesio as the finishing halves.


Jesse Mogg will add plenty of experience to the Brumbies side with the fullback named to a gameday squad for the first time this year.


Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach, Stephen Larkham said: "While we've made a lot of changes, mostly due to Wallaby rest, the message from us doesn't change and we're backing this group to go to Perth and execute their role for the team."


"It's an exciting team for us, with Hudson getting his first start, Klayton on the bench and Jesse there as well with his leadership and voice at the backend of the game.


"We know this is a big game for the Force so we'll have to match there energy but everyone in this group knows what's expected of them and our focus is on preparing well for Saturday night."




1. Blake Schoupp, Gungahlin Eagles


2. Billy Pollard, Uni-Norths Owls


3. Rhys Van Nek, Uni-Norths Owls


4. Darcy Swain, Tuggeranong Vikings


5. Tom Hooper, Tuggeranong Vikings


6. Charlie Cale, Uni-Norths Owls


7. Rory Scott, Canberra Royals


8. Pete Samu, Gungahlin Eagles


9. Ryan Lonergan (C), Tuggeranong Vikings


10. Jack Debreczeni, Uni-Norths Owls


11. Corey Toole, Gungahlin Eagles


12. Tamati Tua, Queanbeyan Whites


13. Hudson Creighton, Queanbeyan Whites


14. Ollie Sapsford, Uni-Norths Owls


15. Andy Muirhead, Canberra Royals




16. Connal McInerney, Canberra Royals


17. Fred Kaihea, Queanbeyan Whites


18. Sefo Kautai, Canberra Royals


19. Jack Wright, Tuggeranong Vikings


20. Luke Reimer, Western Districts Lions


21. Klayton Thorn*, Gungahlin Eagles


22. Noah Lolesio, Tuggeranong Vikings


23. Jesse Mogg, Western District Lions


 *Denotes Super Rugby Pacific, ACT Brumbies debut