Brumbies Country squads named after Provincial Championships

Tue, Jun 14, 2022, 12:07 AM
ACT Brumbies Media
by ACT Brumbies Media
Photo: Lachlan Lawson
Photo: Lachlan Lawson

Following a successful Brumbies Provincial Chamionships, Brumbies Country Women’s and Men’s squads have been selected.

The Women’s fixture saw South Coast-Monaro defeat a spirited SIRU side with Tayla Stanford’s late try making the difference on the day, 10-14.

SIRU shot out to an early lead, taking advantage of a strong wind at their backs to open the scoring through lock Ivy Merlehan. The hosts extended their lead to 14-0 after number 8 Fapiola Uoifalelahi was rewarded for her powerful carries with a try before half-time.

South-Coast Monaro were able to fight their way back into the contest with tries to flanker Pearl Rakete and busy replacement winger Krystal Blackmore, who was rewarded for her hustle with an outstanding try under the posts to even the ledger.

SIRU were dominant in the scrum, replacement Amie Fazekas particularly impressive with her cameo off the bench.

However with experienced fly-half Ash Mewburn steering her South-Coast Monaro team around the park and Pearl Rakete rock solid in defence, the home team were unable to pull away, and Stanford's effort off a quick-tap was enough to seal the win for South-Coast Monaro.

Brumbies Provincial Women's Championship

SIRU 14 (Tries: I Merlehan, F Uoifalelahi. Conversions: M Pearson 2) def by South Coast-Monaro 19 (Tries: P Rakete, K Blackwell, T Stanford. Conversions: A Bishop 2)

2022 Brumbies Country Women’s Squad

1 Amie Fazekas – Leeton, SIRU

2 Harriet Elleman – Wagga Waratahs, SIRU

3 AmyHart – Wagga Waratahs, SIRU

4 HopeCohen – Goulburn, South Coast-Monaro

5 Ivy Merlehan – Reddies, SIRU

6 Yolanda Forsyth – Wagga Waratahs, SIRU

7 PearlRakete – Vikings, South Coast-Monaro

8 Fapiola Uoifalelahi – Griffith, SIRU

9 Jordan Brooker – Goulburn, South Coast-Monaro

10 Ashley Mewburn – Goulburn, South Coast-Monaro

11 Krystal Blackwell – Goulburn, South Coast-Monaro

12 Amelia Lolotonga – Griffith, SIRU

13 Elly Hazelton – Goulburn, South Coast-Monaro

14 Megan Pearson – Wagga Waratahs, SIRU

15 Ashlea Bishop – Royals, South Coast-Monaro

16 Rebecca Harris – Bungendore, South Coast-Monaro

17 Paige Penning – Goulburn, South Coast-Monaro

18 Veronica Seukeni – Griffith, SIRU

19 Tayla Stanford – Vikings, South Coast-Monaro

20 Alice White – Albury-Wodonga, SIRU

21 Tian Kingsbury – ADFA, South Coast-Monaro

22 Megan Seis – WAC, SIRU

23 Sam Small – Jindabyne, South Coast-Monaro

Coach Jonathan Andreou – Waratahs, SIRU

Assistan Coach Chris McCaskie – Uni-Norths, South Coast-Monaro

Brumbies country mens

SIRU evened the standings in the Men’s game, edging Monaro by just one point in dramatic fashion. Down two points with time up, SIRU earned a penalty and fullback Lachie Day stepped up and slotted home to send his side to victory.

First points on the day went to Monaro after scrumhalf Jackson Reardon intercepted a wayward pass and linked with a flying Viliami Seru, who raced 60m to score a try against the run of play.

After SIRU hit back through a well worked try to centre Max Gay, they were unable to secure the kick-off in swirling conditions and replacement flanker Azzam Hudson scored next to the posts. Fly-half Fraser Baird added the conversion to take it out to 12-7.

SIRU dominated the set-piece and looked dangerous on counter-attack through Day, however forced passes and poor handling nullified a number of opportunities. The set-piece pressure did help them add two penalty goals, the second of which put SIRU ahead 13-12 on the stroke of half-time.

After SIRU kicked another penalty to extend their lead, Monaro kept ball in hand and after constantly threatening through forwards Liam Pepper and Will Mooney in particular, their efforts were rewarded with a second try to Azzam Hudson, who crashed over on the right-hand side for a converted try.

SIRU hit back with a well worked try from a rolling maul, but a penalty goal from Fraser Baird allowed Monaro to take the lead 22-20, which seemed to be enough as they quickly got within touching distance of a match-clinching try.

However, some errant discipline allowed SIRU to secure an opportunity for Day to kick them to victory, which he managed to do after missing a straightforward attempt moments earlier.

SIRU’s replacements added much needed composure to their side, with Tully McPherson-Peacock and Blake Theunissen in particular making an impact. For Monaro, Viliami Seru looked threatening each time he touched the ball and Liam Pepper got through a mountain of work with and without the ball.

Brumbies Provincial Men's Championship

SIRU 23 (Tries: M Gay, P Lemmich. Conversions: L Day 2. Penalties: L Day 3) def. Monaro 22 (Tries: V Seru, J Parker, A Hudson. Conversions: F Baird 2. Penalties: F Baird.)

2022 Brumbies Country Men's Squad

1 Alex Meades – WAC, SIRU

2 Adam Mokotupu – Wagga City, SIRU

3 Thomas Blanch – Wagga City, SIRU

4 Will Mooney – Goulburn, Monaro

5 Jordan Wilcox – Goulburn, Monaro

6 Alex Farquhar – WAC, SIRU

7 Connor Swann – Tumut, SIRU

8 Liam Pepper – Jindabyne, Monaro

9 Jackson Reardon – Goulburn, Monaro

10 Anthony Taylor – WAC, SIRU

11 Vincent Wise – Tumut, SIRU

12 Alec Palmer – Goulburn, Monaro

13 Max Gay – WAC, SIRU

14 Vilitati Seru – Cooma, Monaro

15 Adam Lachlan – Goulburn, Monaro

16 James Bundy – Royals, Monaro

17 Talilotu Uoifalelahi – Griffith, SIRU

18 Blake Theunissen – Griffith, SIRU

19 Jacob Nielsen – Wagga City, SIRU

20 Liam Krautz – Reddies, SIRU

21 Tully MacPherson-Peacock – Albury-Wodonga, SIRU

22 NoaRabici – Wagga City, SIRU

23 Lachie Day – Waratahs, SIRU

Coach Nick McCarthy – SIRU

Assistant Coach Doug Ryan – Vikings