FLASHBACK FRIDAY: 2004 Grand Final Team Confirmed

by Brumbies Media

The Brumbies 2004 Grand Final against the Crusaders is next up as part of RUGBY.com.au's Super Rugby Classics series.  We take a look at the team picked by coach David Nucifora. 


The ACT Brumbies have named their side to take on the Crusaders in the Grand-Final of Super Rugby this Saturday at GIO Stadium. 


Owen Finegan leads the side from blindside flanker with Scott Fava at Number eight. One of the Brumbies star performers, George Smith will wear seven, matching up with All-Blacks openside Richie McCaw.  


Bill Young starts at loosehead prop with Nic Henderson on the other side of the scrum at tighthead while the Brumbies will hop to see plenty of action in the loose from rake Jeremy Paul. 


Mark Chisholm will partner Radike Samo at Lock, the speedster operating almost as another backrow for the Brumbies. 


In the backs, 2001 title-winning captain George Gregan partners Stephan Larkham in the halves, the pair having been instrumental for the Brumbies over the past eight years.


Out wide, Mark Gerrard and Clyde Rathbone occupy the wings, Gerrard likely to have a big impact on the game with his finishing ability. 


Feeding the pacemen are Matt Giteau and Joel Wilson, Stirling Mortlock having been ruled out through injury. 


Joe Roff starts at fullback, looking to add another crown to what has been, a remarkable Brumbies career. 


In the reserves, David Palavi and Guy Sheperdson are the front-row cover while club stalwart David Giffin and Jone Tawake are the replacements for the other forward spots. 


Matt Henjack, Mark Batholoneusz and Lenny Beckett are the potential match-winners in the backs, should the Brumbies need some punch towards the back end of the game. 


ACT Brumbies


1. Bill Young

2. Jeremy Paul

3. Nic Henderson

4. Mark Chisholm

5. Radike Samo

6. Owen Finegan

7. George Smith

8. Scott Fava

9. George Gregan

10. Stephen Larkham

11. Mark Gerrard

12. Matt Giteau

13. Joel Wilson 

14. Clyde Rathbone

15. Joe Roff

16. David Palavi

17. Guy Sheperdson

18. David Giffin

19. Jone Tawake

20. Matt Henjack

21. Mark Bartholomeusz

22. Lenny Beckett