Five Brumbies In Players Super Rugby Selection

· Super Rugby
by Brumbies Media

The team recognises players who have represented Australian Super Rugby Clubs in 2018, with a shortlist compiled of players per position not excluding anybody based on nationality or international availability.

Scott Sio and rookie rake Folau Fainga’a were named in the front row with Rory Arnold included as one of the Locks.

David Pocock claimed the openside spot while there was also a place for former Brumby Isi Naisarani.

Tevita Kuridrani was chosen as Australia’s best 13 rounding out the Brumbies representatives.

RUPA President Damien Fitzpatrick congratulated all players on their selection.

“To the fifteen players chosen in the Volvo Players’ Choice Super Rugby Team of the Year, you have been selected by your peers based on your outstanding performances throughout this Super Rugby season. You should be exceptionally proud,” Fitzpatrick said.

“There is no greater accolade than earning the respect and admiration of your teammates and opponents, and on behalf of all of Australia’s players we congratulate you.

“I think it’s a wonderful initiative, undertaken by RUPA and Volvo, to present Australia’s players with the opportunity to select this team. I hope it grows and gathers momentum in the years to come, as it potentially has the opportunity to become one of the most celebrated individual achievements in the game.”

2018 Volvo Players’ Choice Super Rugby Team of the Year

1 Scott Sio (26 years old, Brumbies – 12 appearances)

2 Folau Fainga’a (23 years old, Brumbies – 13 appearances, 3 tries)

3 Taniela Tupou (23 years old, Reds – 15 appearances, 4 tries)

4 Rory Arnold (28 years old, Brumbies – 13 appearances, 2 tries)

5 Rob Simmons (29 years old, Waratahs – 16 appearances, 1 try)

6 Angus Cottrell (28 years old Rebels – 14 appearances, 1 try)

7 David Pocock (30 years old, Brumbies – 10 appearances, 2 tries)

8 Isi Naisarani (23 years old, Rebels (Brumbies in 2018) ( – 15 appearances, 5 tries)

9 Will Genia (30 years old, Rebels – 9 appearances, 1 try)

10 Bernard Foley (28 years old, Waratahs– 18 appearances, 223 points)

11 Taqele Naiyaravoro (26 years old, Waratahs – 16 appearances, 15 tries)

12 Kurtley Beale (29 years old, Waratahs – 18 appearances, 2 tries)

13 Tevita Kuridrani (27 years old, Brumbies – 16 appearances, 2 tries)

14 Jack Maddocks (21 years old, Rebels – 15 appearances, 9 tries)

15 Israel Folau (29 years old, Waratahs – 14 appearances, 11 tries)