Arnold Called In To Wallabies 31

· The Rugby Championship
by Brumbies Media

Plus500 Brumbies lock Rory Arnold has been named in the Wallabies 31-man squad for their tests against South Africa and Argentina.

The newly-crowned Brett Robinson Players’ Player of the Year is one of eight total Brumbies players included in the squad, joining the existing cohort after the Wallabies back-to-back losses against the All-Blacks.

Scott Sio and Allan Alaalatoa are likely to start having fixed the Wallabies scrum woes in Eden Park, while David Pocock has arguably been Australia’s best this season.

The Wallabies most recent debutants, Folau Fainga’a and Tom Banks keep their spots in the extended squad with Brumbies scrumhalf Joe Powell still waiting for more action after a fine season in Canberra.  

Elsewhere, Reds pair Brandon Paenga-Amosa and Caleb Timu will also join the Wallabies squad, as will Israel Folau and Taniela Tupou who’s recovery from injury will surely give the side a lift going into the must-win set of fixtures. 

The Wallabies will reconvene on the Gold Coast later today ahead of the clash at Suncorp Stadium before they take on Argentina at Cbus Stadium on the Gold Coast on September 15.  

Australia currently sit fourth in the Mitsubishi Estate Rugby Championship after back-to-back defeats to New Zealand.

Tickets are on sale now for the 2018 Bledisloe Cup in Sydney as well as Mitsubishi Estate Rugby Championship Test matches in Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

For tickets, visit


Allan Alaalatoa (25 Tests, Brumbies, 24)

Rory Arnold (15 Tests , Brumbies, 28)

Adam Coleman (25 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 26)

Folau Fainga’a (1 Test, Brumbies, 23)

Ned Hanigan (13 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 23)

Michael Hooper (c) (84 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 26)

Sekope Kepu (96 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 32)

Tolu Latu (8 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 25)

Brandon Paenga-Amosa (3 Tests, Queensland Reds, 22)

David Pocock (71 Tests, Brumbies, 30)

Tatafu Polota-Nau (84 Tests, Leicester, 33)

Tom Robertson (23 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 24)

Izack Rodda (9 Tests, Queensland Reds, 22)

Pete Samu (5 Tests, Brumbies, 26)

Rob Simmons (87 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29)

Scott Sio (47 Tests, Brumbies, 26)

Caleb Timu (2 Tests, Queensland Reds, 24)

Lukhan Tui (9 Tests, Queensland Reds, 21)

Taniela Tupou (4 Tests, Queensland Reds, 22)  



Tom Banks (1 Test, Brumbies, 24)

Kurtley Beale (76 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29)

Israel Folau (66 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29)

Bernard Foley (60 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 28)

Will Genia (92 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 30)

Dane Haylett-Petty (23 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 29)

Reece Hodge (29 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 23)

Marika Koroibete (13 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 26)

Jack Maddocks (2 Tests, Melbourne Rebels, 21)

Nick Phipps (66 Tests, NSW Waratahs, 29)

Joe Powell (4 Tests, Brumbies, 24)

Matt Toomua (35 Tests, Leicester/Melbourne Rebels, 28)

*denotes uncapped