Slipper, Marsters take out main honours at RUPA Awards

Thu, Nov 16, 2023, 10:38 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
James Slipper took out the RUPA Medal for Excellence. Photo: RUPA/Kaz Watson
James Slipper took out the RUPA Medal for Excellence. Photo: RUPA/Kaz Watson

Test standouts James Slipper and Ashley Marsters have been honoured for their incredible seasons at the Rugby Union Player Association's (RUPA) Awards ceremony, awarded the RUPA Medal for Excellence.

Slipper beat out fellow Wallabies Rob Valetini, Carter Gordon and Fraser McReight along with backrower duo Michael Hooper and Harry Wilson.

Don’t miss HSBC SVNS Perth in 2024: 26-28 January at HBF Park. Get your tickets now!

The former Wallabies captain took out the Brett Robinson Players’ Player of the Year award at the Brumbies before parlaying this strong Super Rugby form into the Test arena, featuring in seven tests in 2023.

This included starting the final three World Cup games out of position at tight-head prop after injuries to Taniela Tupou and Allan Alaalatoa.

Meanwhile, Marsters claimed the inaugural Women's Medal for Excellence after a breakout international season.

This saw the Rebels skipper make a successful transition to the backrower with a starring performance against Fijiana before continuing this form into the Pac Four and WXV.

Marsters held off a stacked international nominees list that included Black Ferns star Amy Rule, Japanese sensation Natsuki Kashiwagi and Wallaroos captain Piper Duck.

"We love the creation of an award that acknowledges the women's growth and presence in the game," fellow Wallaroo and Women’s XV Player Director Emily Chancellor said on the establishment of the award. 

"By establishing this Medal for Excellence for an athlete who contributes both on and off the field, we are recognising the many fabulous women in this game and their commitment to it. To create an award for the players, elected by the players, demonstrates a commitment to the women's XV game along with all other facets of the game they play in Heaven."

Sevens superstar Charlotte Caslick added to her growing trophy cabinet after winning Women’s Sevens Players’ Player whilst Dietrich Roache took out Men's Sevens Players' Player.

NSW Waratahs superstar Max Jorgensen's brilliant debut season was recognised as the 19-year-old took out Newcomer of the Year.

Western Force prop Tom Robertson took out the Academic Achievement Award as he prepares for a sabbatical at Oxford whilst Sharni Williams was honoured with the Community Service Award.

© 2024 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network