Cale confirmed to start; Slipper to lead Wallabies

Thu, Jul 11, 2024, 1:57 AM
Charlie Cale will make his first start for the Wallabies. Source: Getty Images
Charlie Cale will make his first start for the Wallabies. Source: Getty Images

Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies back-rower Charlie Cale will start for the Wallabies against Wales this Saturday evening (7:45AM AEST), July 13 at AAMI Park in their final clash of their 2-match series.

The Uni-Norths Owl, who made his Australian test debut off the bench in last weekend's 25-16 win over the Welsh in Sydney, has been promoted after Wallabies' captain Liam Wright was ruled out with injury. He will join Super Rugby Pacific team mate Rob Valetini, who lines up in the back-row alongside Fraser McReight.

The selection continues the rise of the 23-year old, who muscled through 24 minutes of game time, stealing a crucial line-out to aid the Wallabies in their first hit out of 2024.

With Liam Wright ruled out, Brumbies prop James Slipper has been handed the reins to lead the side for the 15th time in an unchanged front-row. The Wallabies will wear their First Nations jersey in recognition of NAIDOC week in Melbourne.

Wallabies v Wales Match Highlights | First Test, 2024

Brumbies duo Noah Lolesio and Tom Wright have been named to start by Head Coach Joe Schmidt, with no changes made to the backline in consecutive weeks,

Brumbies skipper Allan Alaalatoa, who provided experience and leadership off the bench in last week's victory has also retained his spot on the interchange bench.

The Wallabies face Wales at AAMI Park, Melbourne on Saturday 13 July, kicking off at 7:45PM AEST.

1. James Slipper (C) (135 Tests) – Bond Pirates

2. Matt Faessler (6 Tests) – USQ Saints

3. Taniela Tupou (51 Tests) – Brothers Rugby

4. Jeremy Williams (1 Test) - Wahroonga Tigers

5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (31 Tests) – Randwick

6. Rob Valetini (40 Tests) – Harlequin Junior Rugby Club

7. Fraser McReight (18 Tests) – Albany Creek Brumbies

8. Charlie Cale (1 Test) - Beecroft Junior Rugby Club

9. Jake Gordon (21 Tests) – Canterbury Berries

10. Noah Lolesio (18 Tests) – Tuggeranong Vikings

11. Filipo Daugunu (8 Tests) – Wests Bulldogs

12. Hunter Paisami (25 Tests) - Harlequin Junior Rugby Club

13. Josh Flook (1 Test) - Brothers Rugby

14. Andrew Kellaway (27 Tests) – Hunters Hill Rugby

15. Tom Wright (26 Tests) – Clovelly Eagles


16. Josh Nasser** - Easts Tigers

17. Isaac Kailea (1 Test) - Harlequin Junior Rugby Club

18. Allan Alaalatoa (68 Tests) – West Harbour Juniors

19. Angus Blyth (1 Test) - Casuarina Beach Rugby Club

20. Langi Gleeson (5 Tests) – Harbord Harlequins

21. Nic White (66 Tests) – Maitland Blacks

22. Ben Donaldson (7 Tests) – Clovelly Eagles

23. Dylan Pietsch (1 Test) - Leeton Phantoms

**denotes potential debut

Siokapesi Palu: Converting the family to gold jerseys
Tania Naden training for the Wallaroos at the AIS, photo by Jack Rowley.
Five Brumbies named for Wallaroos to take on the Black Ferns
Australia U20s denied semi-final spot after clash with Ireland cancelled
Press Conference: ACT Brumbies Chairman Matt Nobbs