Brumbies contingent named for Wallaroos Test against USA

Tue, May 14, 2024, 10:59 PM
Brumbies Super Rugby Womens Captain Siokapesi Palu was a stand out for the Wallaroos against Canada. Credit: Getty Images
Brumbies Super Rugby Womens Captain Siokapesi Palu was a stand out for the Wallaroos against Canada. Credit: Getty Images

Wallaroos Head Coach Jo Yapp has retained four Brumbies players in her team to face the USA in this Friday's Pacific Four fixture at AAMI Park, kicking off at 4:55PM AEST.

Yapp named a new look side which fell to Canada 33-14 in their Pacific Four Series opener last Saturday evening at Allianz Stadium, Sydney.

Brumbies Captain Siokapesi Palu will start at blindside flanker, the Uni-Norths Owl troubling the Canadians on several occasions with her tackle busting runs. She will be joined by her Owl's team mate Tania Naden, who scored the Wallaroos opening try of the 2024 Wallaroos International Season last weekend.

Naden gets the first try for 2024 | Wallaroos 2024

Brumbies' Sally Fuesaina who made her Wallaroos debut on Saturday, has been named on the reserves bench alongside youngster Faitala Moleka.

"Despite the result, we took a lot of positives from our first hit out. We are also aware of our areas to work on and the players have worked really hard on these this week," Yapp told

"We are also looking forward to playing against the USA at AAMI Park in Melbourne."

The Wallaroos will travel to the North Island of New Zealand next week to face the Black Ferns at North Harbour Stadium. The final match of the Pacific Four series taking place on on May 25, kicking off at 12:05PM AEST.

Tickets for the Pacific Four series are available for purchase via Ticketek. Fans will also be able to catch the match on Stan Sport.

2024 Pacific Four Series – Round 2

Wallaroos v USA

May 17 May, 4:55PM AEST

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Wallaroos Starting XV

1. Brianna Hoy (NSW Waratahs) – 4 caps

2. Tania Naden (ACT Brumbies) – 11 caps 

3. Eva Karpani (NSW Waratahs) – 22 caps

4. Kaitlan Leaney (NSW Waratahs) – 16 caps 

5. Michaela Leonard (c) (Western Force) – 23 caps

6. Siokapesi Palu (ACT Brumbies) – 7 caps

7. Ashley Marsters (Melbourne Rebels) – 27 caps

8. Piper Duck (NSW Waratahs) – 11 caps

9. Samantha Wood (Western Force) – 1 cap

10. Arabella McKenzie (NSW Waratahs) – 22 caps

11. Desiree Miller (NSW Waratahs) – 3 caps

12. Trilleen Pomare (Western Force) – 25 caps

13. Georgina Friedrichs (NSW Waratahs) – 20 caps

14. Maya Stewart (NSW Waratahs) – 9 caps

15. Caitlyn Halse* (NSW Waratahs) – debut 



16. Hera-Barb Malcolm Heke (Western Force) – 1 cap

17. Sally Fuesaina (ACT Brumbies) – 1 cap 

18. Bridie O'Gorman (NSW Waratahs) – 18 caps

19. Atasi Lafai (NSW Waratahs) – 10 caps

20. Leilani Nathan (NSW Waratahs) – 3 caps

21. Layne Morgan (NSW Waratahs) – 20 caps

22. Faitala Moleka (ACT Brumbies) – 7 caps

23. Lori Cramer (Queensland Reds) – 20 caps

Head Coach

Jo Yapp