Seven Plus500 Brumbies to start in Bledisloe One

by Brumbies Media

Seven Plus500 Brumbies have been selected to start for the Wallabies in their Bledisloe Cup opener against the All Blacks at Eden Park in Auckland this Saturday at 5.05pm AEST.


James Slipper and Brumbies skipper Allan Alaalatoa occupy the prop roles with Darcy Swain retaining his spot in the second row after some impressive performances in his maiden test rugby season.


Rob Valetini comes back into Australia’s starting group at blindside.


Noah Lolesio will steer the Wallabies attack from flyhalf with his fellow Tuggeranong Viking Len Ikitau selected at outside centre.


Tom Banks will wear the fullback jersey once again having started every test for the Wallabies in 2021 to date.


Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “As a group we couldn’t be more excited about the challenge of taking on New Zealand at Eden Park, a place they’re expected to win whenever they play there.”

“We’ve had a strong week on the training field and the team is in good shape heading to Auckland.

“We have a great opportunity to show how tight we are as a group on Saturday night and create our own history in the Wallabies jersey.”

Stan Sport will showcase Saturday night’s Bledisloe Cup Test ad-free, live and on demand while it will also be simulcast on 9Gem.

Very limited tickets will be available from 4pm AWST today for the Bledisloe Cup Test at Optus Stadium in Perth on Saturday 28 August and available via Ticketmaster.


Wallabies team to play New Zealand at Eden Park, Auckland on Saturday 7 August, 7:05pm NZST

1. James Slipper (103 Tests)
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (12 Tests)
3. Allan Alaalatoa (46 Tests)
4. Darcy Swain (3 Tests)
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (28 Tests)
6. Rob Valetini (7 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (108 Tests)
8. Harry Wilson (8 Tests)
9. Tate McDermott (5 Tests)
10. Noah Lolesio (5 Tests)
11. Andrew Kellaway (2 Tests)
12. Hunter Paisami (9 Tests)
13. Len Ikitau (2 Tests)
14. Jordan Petaia (8 Tests)
15. Tom Banks (14 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (13 Tests)
17. Angus Bell (6 Tests)
18. Taniela Tupou (28 Tests)
19. Matt Philip (12 Tests)
20. Fraser McReight (1 Test)
21. Jake Gordon (8 Tests)
22. Matt To’omua (57 Tests)
23. Reece Hodge (46 Tests)