Nine Plus500 Brumbies in Wallabies squad for French grudge match

by Brumbies Media

Dave Rennie's has selected nine Plus500 Brumbies in the Wallabies side to take on France this Tuesday at 8.00pm at AAMI Park in Melbourne.

Brumbies Skipper Allan Alaalatoa reverts to the finishing tighthead prop role in the only change to Australia's second test of the year. 

James Slipper retains the number one jersey, with Rob Valetini earning his second international start. 

Having kicked four from four off the tee last week, Noah Lolesio will steer the Wallabies from flyhalf again. 

Tom Wright and Tom Banks combine in the back three on the right wing and fullback respectively. 

Lachlan Lonergan and Darcy Swain are amongst the finishers after debuting last time out, with Len Ikitau the lone potential debutant in the Wallabies selection. 


Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “Taniela made a real impact on both sides of the ball when he came on in at Suncorp Stadium and we’ll be looking for him to do the same from the get go in Melbourne.”

“We’ve worked hard and we’re well conditioned. A lack of accuracy in Brisbane denied us the opportunity to make the most of that, but we showed plenty of character to stay in the fight until the final whistle.

“We need to start fast, be more clinical and turn pressure into points at AAMI Park on Tuesday night.”


Wallabies team to play France at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on Wednesday 7 July, 8:00pm AEST

1. James Slipper (101 Tests)
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (9 Tests)
3. Taniela Tupou (26 Tests)
4. Matt Philip (10 Tests)
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (26 Tests)
6. Rob Valetini (5 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (106 Tests)
8. Harry Wilson (7 Tests)
9. Jake Gordon (6 Tests)
10. Noah Lolesio (3 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (33 Tests)
12. Matt To’omua (55 Tests)
13. Hunter Paisami (7 Tests)
14. Tom Wright (4 Tests)
15. Tom Banks (12 Tests)


16. Lachlan Lonergan (1 Test)
17. Angus Bell (4 Tests)
18. Allan Alaalatoa (44 Tests)
19. Darcy Swain (1 Test)
20. Isi Naisarani (9 Tests)
21. Tate McDermott (3 Tests)
22. Len Ikitau*
23. Andrew Kellaway (1 Test)
*denotes uncapped