Sio named to start for Wallabies Test against Argentina

· Tri Nations
by Rugby Australia

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has named seven Plus500 Brumbies to for the side’s eToro Tri Nations showdown against Argentina in Newcastle on Saturday night.

Scott Sio makes his first start of the year in place of Brumbies teammate and centurion James Slipper. Brumbies skipper Allan Alaalatoa and Folau Fainga'a will provide impact up front, from the bench. 

Scone-born Nic White will get his first chance to play for his country in the Hunter Valley, partnering with Reece Hodge who retains the number 10 jersey after steering the side to a win over New Zealand in Brisbane with Noah Lolesio in the reserves. 

After scoring with his first touch in international rugby, Brumbies star Tom Wright will again start on the wing with Tom Banks rounding out an unchanged backline in Newcastle.

Rob Valetini comes back into the 23, covering both lock and backrow as he did for the Brumbies at times in 2020.

Qantas Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “After being left out in our last Test we got the reaction we expected from Scott, his preparation this week has been excellent and his experience will be invaluable against Argentina.”

“As a group, we know respect is earned daily and understand the importance of backing up our last performance with another quality effort on Saturday night.

“The tournament is evenly poised and our fate is in our own hands. We saw how much passion Argentina play with in their performance last weekend and we’re excited by the challenge in Newcastle.”

Wallabies team to play Argentina at McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle on Saturday 21 November, 7:45pm AEDT

1. Scott Sio (66 Tests)

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (7 Tests)

3. Taniela Tupou (23 Tests)

4. Rob Simmons (104 Tests)

5. Matt Philip (7 Tests)

6. Ned Hanigan (23 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (103 Tests)

8. Harry Wilson (4 Tests)

9. Nic White (35 Tests)

10. Reece Hodge (43 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (32 Tests)

12. Hunter Paisami (4 Tests)

13. Jordan Petaia (6 Tests)

14. Tom Wright (1 Test)

15. Tom Banks (9 Tests)


16. Folau Fainga’a (14 Tests)

17. Angus Bell (1 Test)

18. Allan Alaalatoa (39 Tests)

19. Rob Valetini (2 Tests)

20. Liam Wright (4 Tests)

21. Jake Gordon (3 Tests)

22. Noah Lolesio (2 Tests)

23. Filipo Daugunu (4 Tests)

Tickets are on sale now via Ticketek and Ticketmaster for the 2020 eToro Tri Nations, depending on the match venue. For more information, visit

Foxtel will show every match of the 2020 eToro Tri Nations LIVE with no ad-breaks during play and in HD. Watch on FOX Sports or stream on Kayo Sports.All Bledisloe Cup matches, and matches featuring the Wallabies, will be screened LIVE and free in HD on TEN and WIN Network and streaming on

Hospitality packages for the 2020 Bledisloe Cup are also now on-sale for the 2020 Tri Nations. Fans can enjoy the Test match from the comfort of a premium match day function or private suites to make their experience even more special.

For more information about hospitality packages please call 1800 619 181 or click the link below