Wright set for Test bow as Slipper brings up 100 caps

· Tri Nations
by Brumbies Media

Qantas Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has named Plus500 Brumbies winger Tom Wright to debut in the fourth and final Bledisloe Cup clash against New Zealand at in Brisbane on Saturday night.

The eToro Tri Nations Test will also serve as a major milestone for James Slipper, who will become just the 13th Wallaby to play 100 Tests for Australia when he runs out in the number one jersey in his home state.

He’ll be joined in the front row by Brumbies skipper Allan Alaalatoa at tighthead prop, Folau Fainga'a earning a recall to the reserves though there is no place for Scott Sio.  

Nic White will start at scrumhalf in all four Bledisloe clashes in 2020, with Noah Lolesio named as flyhalf reserve after making his bow last week.

Wright is set to become Wallaby number 939 when he runs on for debut, with his Brumbies teammate Tom Banks returning to fullback.

 Qantas Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said: “It’s going to be a really special night for James in front of his family and friends back at his home ground and I know the team will be doing everything they can to make sure it’s a memorable result.”

“Lachlan, Tom and Angus have been excellent over the past seven weeks and have earned their first jersey for Australia through hard work and good performances.

“As a whole group we were really disappointed after last weekend and we get a chance to show our character on Saturday in Brisbane."

Wallabies team to play New Zealand at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on Saturday 7 November, 6:45pm AEST

1. James Slipper (99 Tests)

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (6 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (38 Tests)

4. Rob Simmons (103 Tests)

5. Matt Philip (6 Tests)

6. Lachlan Swinton*

7. Michael Hooper (c) (102 Tests)

8. Harry Wilson (3 Tests)

9. Nic White (34 Tests)

10. Reece Hodge (42 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (31 Tests)

12. Hunter Paisami (3 Tests)

13. Jordan Petaia (5 Tests)

14. Tom Wright*

15. Tom Banks (8 Tests)


16. Folau Fainga’a (13 Tests)

17. Angus Bell*

18. Taniela Tupou (22 Tests)

19. Ned Hanigan (22 Tests)

20. Liam Wright (3 Tests)

21. Tate McDermott (1 Test)

22. Noah Lolesio (1 Test)

23. Filipo Daugunu (3 Tests)

*denotes uncapped

Tickets are on sale now via Ticketek and Ticketmaster for the 2020 eToro Tri Nations, depending on the match venue. For more information, visit TriNations2020.com.au.


Foxtel will show every match of the 2020 eToro Tri Nations LIVE with no ad-breaks during play and in HD. Watch on FOX Sports or stream on Kayo Sports.

All Bledisloe Cup matches, and matches featuring the Wallabies, will be screened LIVE and free in HD on TEN and WIN Network and streaming on tenplay.com.au.

Hospitality packages for the 2020 Bledisloe Cup are also now on-sale for the 2020 Tri Nations. Fans can enjoy the Test match from the comfort of a premium match day function or private suites to make their experience even more special.

For more information about hospitality packages please call 1800 619 181,

email hospitality@rugby.com.au or visit www.rugbyaustralia.com.au/hospitality/testmatches