McCaffrey to lead Runners in Super Rugby curtain raiser

by Brumbies Media

The Brumbies Runners have confirmed their side to take on Rebels A on Friday afternoon, with Locky McCaffrey leading the side in his return to action following a stint in Japan. 


Serving as both a curtain raiser to the Plus500 Brumbies Super Rugby round two matchup against the Rebels, and as a chance for those not involved in the matchday 23 to push for selection, this ‘A’ game has the potential to be a thrilling contest. 


McCaffrey is one of those players looking to break into Dan McKellar’s squad, starting in a potent looking backrow with Jahrome Brown at openside and Brumbies Academy prospect Luke Reimer at six. 


Up front, Bo Abra and Tom Ross combine with Lachlan Lonergan to form a dynamic front-row, Tom Hooper and Callum MacDonald completing a youthful tight-five.


Issak Fines and Reesjan Pasitoa will combine in the halves, the former playing just his second ever game of senior rugby and his first wearing the number 10.


It took a last-minute penalty from Issac Henry for the Runners to beat the Rising in Albury two weeks ago, and those heroics have earned Henry a start at GIO Stadium at inside centre alongside the always dangerous Len Ikitau. 


On the wings, Guy Porter and Tom Haddad start on the right and left respectively with Mack Hansen to line up at fullback. Billy Pollard, Fred Kaihea and Max Bode are the front-row finishers with Zane Marolt, Zeph Tuniona and Rory Scott the other forward reserves.


Lachie Albert put in a strong display in Albury as replacement, and once again will be the scrum-half finisher with Wests clubmate Tony Alofipo also providing spark as the flyhalf substitute. 


Uni-Norths Owls speedster Dennis Waight completes the selection, his versatility could see him cover both wing and centre in the Super Rugby curtain raiser. 



Runners team v Rebels A'


1.     Bo Abra (Tuggeranong Vikings)

2.     Lachlan Lonergan (Tuggeranong Vikings)

3.     Tom Ross (Gungahlin Eagles)

4.     Tom Hooper (Tuggeranong Vikings)

5.     Callum MacDonald (Gungahlin Eagles)

6.     Luke Reimer (Easts)

7.     Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles)

8.     Lachlan McCaffrey (c) (Queanbeyan Whites)

9.     Issak Fines (Gungahlin Eagles)

10.  Reesjan Pasitoa (Wests)

11.  Tom Haddad (Gungahlin Eagles)

12.  Issac Henry (Tuggeranong Vikings)

13.  Len Ikitau (Tuggeranong Vikings)

14.  Guy Porter (Queanbeyan WhitesI

15.  Mack Hansen (Gungahlin Eagles)




16.  Billy Pollard (TBC)

17.  Fred Kaihea (Queanbeyan Whites)

18.  Max Bode (Uni-Norths-Owls)

19.  Zane Marolt (Queanbeyan Whites)

20.  Rory Scott (Royals)

21.  Lachie Albert (Wests)

22.  Tony Alofipo (Wests)

23.  Dennis Waight (Uni-Norths Owls)

24.  Zeph Tuinona (Queanbeyan Whites)