Arnold Starts; Six Brumbies In Wallabies Boks Brigade

by Brumbies Media

David Pocock will once again wear Number 8, the Brumbies backrow building a case for a second John Eales Medal with his recent performances.

Rounding out the Capital contingent is Folau Fainga’a.

Fainga’a beat out stiff competition from Tolu Latu and Brandon Paenga-Amosa for the replacment rake job, his hat-trick in Canberra Vikings colours last weekend perhaps earning Fainga’a the right.

Cheika has picked Kurtley Beale at flyhalf with Matt Toomua selected at inside-centre, the former Brumbies first start in Gold since re-signing in Australia.In a further change to the backs, Israel Folau returns to the side at fullback after an ankle injury ruled out him out of the second Bledisloe Cup Test in Auckland.

Prop sensation Taniela Tupou has overcome a hamstring complaint to take his place on the bench.

Australia and South Africa couldn’t be split in the two encounters last year with a 23-all draw in Perth before playing out a 27-all draw in Bloemfontein, South Africa.

It’s been a happy hunting ground for the Wallabies at Suncorp Stadium recently though, with the Wallabies having won their last four games in Brisbane.

FOX SPORTS will showcase every game of the Bledisloe Cup and the Mitsubishi Estate Rugby Championship LIVE with no ad-breaks during play and in HD.

All Qantas Wallabies matches will also be screened LIVE and free in HD on TEN and WIN Network and streaming on

Tickets are still available for the Mitsubishi Estate Rugby Championship Test matches in Brisbane as well as the clash against Argentina on the Gold Coast next weekend.

For tickets, visit

Qantas Wallabies team to play South Africa at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on Saturday 8 September, 8.05pm AEST

1. Scott Sio (47 Tests)

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (84 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (25 Tests)

4. Rory Arnold (15 Tests)

5. Adam Coleman (25 Tests)

6. Lukhan Tui (9 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (84 Tests)

8. David Pocock (71 Tests)

9. Will Genia (92 Tests)

10. Kurtley Beale (76 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (13 Tests)

12. Matt Toomua (35 Tests)

13. Reece Hodge (29 Tests)

14. Dane Haylett-Petty (23 Tests)

15. Israel Folau (66 Tests)


16. Folau Faingaa (1 Test)

17. Tom Robertson (23 Tests)

18. Taniela Tupou (4 Tests)

19. Izack Rodda (9 Tests)

20. Ned Hanigan (13 Tests)

21. Joe Powell (4 Tests)

22. Bernard Foley (60 Tests)

23. Jack Maddocks (2 Tests)