Alaalatoa To Vice-Captain Wallabies Against Barbarians

· International
by Brumbies Media

Qantas Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named four Plus500 Brumbies in his side, including the debut of Allan Alaalatoa as the team’s Vice-Captain, for their clash with the Barbarians in Sydney.

Cheika has selected Israel Folau on the wing in what will be his last game of 2017, with Karmichael Hunt to play fullback.

Test veteran Nick Phipps will captain the Wallabies in the absence of Michael Hooper, with Alaalatoa and Samu Kerevi to be his deputies at Allianz Stadium in Sydney on Saturday afternoon.

Thirteen of Australia’s starting fifteen have been capped at international level and while Saturday’s Barbarians clash isn’t Test status, Queensland young gun Duncan Paia’aua and centre Billy Meakes will get their first taste in a Wallaby jersey.

Former Wallabies captain Stephen Moore will play for the last time in a gold jersey on home soil after being named on the bench, while Ben McCalman returns to the national fold following a horror run with shoulder injuries.

The Wallabies have only played the Barbarians in Australia once before, that back in 2009, when the men in gold ran out 55-7 winners at Allianz Stadium in Sydney.

This will be the thirteenth meeting between Australia and the invitational side, and their first since November 2014, in what was also Michael Cheika’s first game as Wallabies coach.

It will also be an interesting clash off the field as well, with Cheika to go toe-to-toe with good friend and former Wallabies coach Alan Jones.Qantas Wallabies team to play the Barbarians at Allianz Stadium, Sydney on Saturday 28 October, 3.00pm local time.

1. Tom Robertson (NSW Waratahs)

2. Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Rebels)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (vc) (Brumbies)

4. Rory Arnold (Brumbies)

5. Lukhan Tui (Queensland Reds)

6. Ned Hanigan (NSW Waratahs)

7. Jack Dempsey (NSW Waratahs)

8. Lopeti Timani (Melbourne Rebels)

9. Nick Phipps (c) (NSW Waratahs)

10. Duncan Paia’aua (Queensland Reds)

11. Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs)

12. Billy Meakes (Western Force)

13. Samu Kerevi (vc) (Queensland Reds)

14. Henry Speight (Brumbies)

15. Karmichael Hunt (Queensland Reds)


16. Stephen Moore (Queensland Reds)

17. Tetera Faulkner (Melbourne Rebels)

18. Jermaine Ainsley (Melbourne Rebels)

19. Kane Douglas (Queensland Reds)

20. Ben McCalman (Western Force)

21. Joe Powell (Brumbies)

22. Curtis Rona (Western Force)

23. Izaia Perese (Queensland Reds)